About the Available Light Film Festival

Bringing a world of stories on screen and stage to Whitehorse since 2003.

Canada's largest film festival north of 60° is a celebration of Northern, Canadian and international cinema and takes place in the heart of winter in Whitehorse. Guest directors, artists and screen talent who have attended ALFF include: Alanis Obomsawin, Sandra Oh, Gavin Crawford, Tanya Tagaq, Ben Ratner, Joel Thomas Hynes, Guy Maddin, John Walker, Nettie Wild, Zacharias Kunuk, Gil Cardinal, Charles Officer, Don McKellar, Neil Diamond, Carol Geddes, Omar Majeed, Peter Wintonick, Stéphane Lafleur, Gabrielle Rose, Sherry White, Tantoo Cardinal, Alan Zweig, Naomi Sneickus, Jesse Zubot, Maureen Bradley, Charles Wilkinson, Nettie Wild, David Hamilton, Peter Raymont, Nick Brandestini, Sonia Boileau, Allan Code, Suzanne Crocker, Avi Federgreen, Daniel Janke, Raj Panikkar, Carl Bessai, Ann Marie Fleming, Daniel Cross, Julia Ivanova, Daniel MacIvor, Lulu Keating, Michelle Latimer, Amanda Strong, Jesse Wente, Shane Koyczan, Mila Aung-Thwin, Josh Epstein, Carmen Pollard, Michael Lawrenchuk, Ingrid Veninger, Melanie Wood, Chilton Crane, Alethea Arnaquq-Baril, Helen Haig-Brown, Naomi Mark, Renée Beaulieu, Milliefiore Clarkes, Richard Van Camp, Sean Devlin, Jasmin Mozafarri, Mira Burt-Wintonick, John Christou, Marie Clements, Michael Greyeyes, Asivak Koostachin, Gordon Loverin, Kacey Rohl, Matthew Rankin, Aaron Zeghers, David Curtis, Daniel Sokolwoski, Luke Gleeson, Caroline Cox, Bonnie Sherr-Klein.

  • 2024 dates: February 8 to 18


Made in the North Award

Made possible with the support of: The Directors Guild of Canada, Canada Media Fund and Northwestel Community TV.

Available Light Film Festival is thrilled to award cash prizes to the three best films by underrepresented filmmakers in our lineup. YFS/ ALFF embraces diversity in all its forms and definitions, including technique and passion that transports storytelling to screen. The Made in the North Award is designed to advance the talent of Black, Indigenous, People of Colour, and LGBTQ2S+ Canadian filmmakers with a focus on those living in northern territories and regions of Canada.There are three categories:

BEST CANADIAN FEATURE FILM ($5000 prize) - Director is citizen or permanent resident of Canada

Sponsored by The Directors Guild of Canada

BEST NORTHERN SHORT FILM ($2500 prize) - Director resides in Yukon, Northwest Territories, Labrador, Nunavik & Nunavut and northern regions of BC, AB, SK, MB and ON.

Sponsored by Northwestel Community TV

BEST CANADIAN SHORT FILM ($2500 prize) - Director resides outside the North

Sponsored by Canada Media Fund

Available Light Cinematography Awards

Made possible with the support of Warner Brothers Discovery Access Canada.



Available Light Audience Choice Awards

BEST CANADIAN FEATURE DOCUMENTARY FILM ($1000 prize) - Director is citizen or permanent resident of Canada

BEST CANADIAN FEATURE FICTION FILM ($1000 prize) - Director is citizen or permanent resident of Canada

ALFF Short Film Pitch Prize

$7500 cash and in-kind production equipment and support.

Follow us on social media

ALFF Sponsors

2024 Sponsors